January 26, 2007

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy 7A-257 Forrestal Building U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Mr. Secretary:

The Hydrogen Technical Advisory Committee recognizes David K. Garman, in his current role as Under Secretary of Energy and in his previous role as Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, for demonstrating steadfast leadership to advance the development and use of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies.

Under Secretary Garman's insight, vision, and technical expertise has enabled the current success of the President's Hydrogen Fuel Initiative and DOE Hydrogen Program in that he has presented a strong case for hydrogen and fuel cells tirelessly and eloquently before national organizations, the U.S. Congress, and international partners.

Under Secretary Garman shares our strong beliefs about prospects for a clean, reliable, and affordable energy future, and his efforts have moved our beliefs forward.

On behalf of the entire hydrogen and fuel cell community, please accept the attached resolution offering our sincere gratitude and appreciation to David K. Garman for his contributions to the development and use of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies and our Nation's energy future.

Sincerely,

Ala a hland

Dr. Alan C. Lloyd HTAC Chair (2006-2007) and President International Council on Clean Transportation

Honorable Robert S. Walker HTAC Vice-Chair (2006-2007) and Chairman Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates

Enclosure: Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Technical Advisory Committee Resolution on Expression of Appreciation to Under Secretary of Energy David Garman

cc: Distribution List

Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Technical Advisory Committee Resolution on Expression of Appreciation to Under Secretary of Energy David Garman January 2007

"Whereas, David K. Garman, in his current role as Under Secretary of Energy and in his previous role as Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, has demonstrated steadfast leadership to advance the development and use of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies; and

Whereas, his insight, vision, and technical expertise have enabled the current success of the President's Hydrogen Fuel Initiative and DOE Hydrogen Program; and

Whereas, he has presented the case for hydrogen and fuel cells tirelessly and eloquently before national organizations, the U.S. Congress, and International partners; and

Whereas, the prospects for a clean, reliable, and affordable energy future are significantly brighter as a result of his efforts;

Be it resolved, the Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory Committee, on behalf of the entire hydrogen and fuel cell community, offers its sincere gratitude and appreciation to David K. Garman for his contributions to the development and use of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies and our Nation's energy future."

Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory Committee (HTAC) Created by Section 807 of Title VIII, Hydrogen, of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 Chartered in June 2006 by the Secretary of the United States Department of Energy

Outcome of the January 9-10, 2007 meeting in Washington D.C.

Distribution List:

HTAC Members Larry R. Bawden, Jadoo Power Systems, President/CEO John S. Bresland, U. S. Chemical Safety Board, Board Member Mark Chernoby, Chrysler Group Business Unit at DaimlerChrysler, Corp., V.P., Advanced Vehicle Engineering Uma Chowdhry, DuPont Central Research and Development, Senior Vice President and Chief Science and Technology Officer Mildred Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Institute Professor David J. Friedman, Union of Concerned Scientists, Research Director, Clean Vehicles Program Arthur T. Katsaros, Air Products & Chemicals, Inc., Group V.P., Development and Technology Dan R. Keuter, Entergy Nuclear, Inc., V.P., Business Development J. Byron McCormick, General Motors Corp., Executive Director/GM Global Fuel Cell Activities Michael J. Mudd, FutureGen Alliance, Inc., CEO; Manager of Technology Development at American Electric Power. Inc. Randall W. Napoli, Florida State Fire Marshall, Director Ian C. Purtle, Cargill, Inc., Corporate VP, Director of Process Solutions Technology Development Center Michael P. Ramage, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering, Executive VP (retired) E. James Reinsch, Bechtel Nuclear, President Geraldine L. Richmond, University of Oregon, Noves Professor of Chemistry Roger B. Saillant, Plug Power, President/CEO Robert W. Shaw, Aretê Corporation, President Kathleen Taylor, General Motors Research and Planning, Director of Materials Processing Laboratory (retired) Jan van Dokkum, UTC Power, President J. Craig Venter, Synthetic Genomics, Inc., CEO John M. Wootten, Peabody Energy, Environment and Technology, V.P. (retired) John D. Hofmeister, Shell Oil Company, President and U.S. Country Chair Gregory M. Vesey, Chevron Global Power Generation, President

Federal Government U.S. Department of Energy

David K. Garman, Under Secretary

Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy:

Kathi Epping (DFO) JoAnn Milliken Arlene Anderson <u>Office of Fossil Energy</u> Lowell Miller <u>Office of Nuclear Energy</u> Sink, Carl <u>Office of Science</u> Kung, Harriet

U.S. Department of Transportation William Chernicoff