Skip navigation to main content. U.S. Department of Energy Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program Home Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program Home
U.S. Department of Energy Hydrogen Program  
HomeAboutDOE ParticipantsInternationalLibraryNews and Events
Hydrogen Production
Hydrogen Delivery
Hydrogen Storage
Hydrogen Manufacturing
Fuel Cells
Applications/Technology Validation
Codes and Standards
Basic Research
Systems Analysis
Systems Integration
U.S. Department of Energy
Search help

Home > H2 Refuel H-Prize

H2 Refuel H-Prize

In October 2014, DOE launched the $1 million H2 Refuel H-Prize to challenge America’s engineers and entrepreneurs to develop systems for small-scale hydrogen fueling. The prize targets systems used at homes or multi-use sites to supplement the current development of hydrogen fueling station infrastructure. Successful entries will install and test systems that generate hydrogen from resources available to most homes, electricity and/or natural gas, and dispense the hydrogen into vehicles. Winners will demonstrate that they can meet both the technical and cost criteria as outlined in the final guidelines. The team that demonstrates the best system will be awarded a $1 million cash prize.

Competition Plan and Prize

The H2 Refuel H-Prize competition opened October 29, 2014, after the publication of the final guidelines in the Federal Register. More information about the prize, including registration information and other updates, will be posted on the H-Prize website.

The H2 Refuel competition will last two years. In the first year, contestants will have one year to find partners, design a system, find a place to install the system, and register for the prize before submitting data and designs to a team of independent judges, who will select the top teams as finalists to go to the testing phase. Once selected, finalist teams will have seven months to build, install, and prepare their systems for testing. Remote and on-site testing will be used to collect data for the technical criteria, and independent financial experts would evaluate the cost criteria. Each entry will be scored based on the results, and the finalist team that gets the highest score while meeting the minimum criteria will win a prize of $1 million.