



Hydrogen Program
2023 Annual Merit Review and
Peer Evaluation Meeting





AMR Program Awards





June 5, 2023

Hydrogen Program Special Recognition Award



Hydrogen Safety Panel

For 20 years of outstanding contributions to the safe deployment of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies and R&D activities

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

R&D Award – Hydrogen Production Technologies



In recognition of outstanding contributions to developing high-performing, efficient, and durable intermediate-temperature proton conducting solid oxide electrolysis cells

Xingbo Liu, PhD

West Virginia University

R&D Award – Fuel Cell Technologies



For outstanding leadership in developing the Million Mile Fuel Cell Truck (M2FCT) national lab consortium's accelerated stress test protocols to predict durability of next-generation fuel cells for heavy-duty vehicles

Rangachary Mukundan, PhD

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

R&D Award – Fuel Cell Technologies



For exceptional co-leadership of the Million Mile Fuel Cell Truck (M2FCT) national lab consortium and outstanding contributions to state-of-the-art fuel cell modeling and characterization

Adam Weber, PhD

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

R&D Award – Fuel Cell Technologies



In recognition of exceptional leadership in the advancement of diversity, equity, and inclusion through mentorship of students at minority-serving institutions to enable hydrogen and fuel cell workforce development

Tommy Rockward

Los Alamos National Laboratory

R&D Award – Systems Development & Integration





In recognition of outstanding achievements in the development and demonstration of a first-of-a-kind clean hydrogen production facility, powered by carbon-free nuclear energy, at the Nine Mile Point Nuclear Station in Oswego, New York

Uuganbayar Otgonbaatar, PhD

Constellation Energy Generation

Robert Beaumont

Constellation Energy Generation

R&D Award – Systems Development & Integration



In recognition of outstanding achievements in the development and demonstration of a fleet of hydrogen fuel cell box trucks for operation in disadvantaged communities

Jason Hanlin

Center for Transportation and the Environment

R&D Award – Analysis, Codes & Standards



For outstanding leadership in the development of CSA and ISO standards, as well as active participation in the greater RCS community

Sara Marxen
CSA Group

R&D Award – Analysis, Codes & Standards













In recognition of outstanding achievements in the development and improvement of the Greenhouse gases, Regulated Emissions, and Energy use in Technologies (GREET) model

Argonne National Laboratory

Michael Wang, PhD Amgad Elgowainy, PhD Hao Cai Krishna Reddi, PhD Tom Sykora Pradeep Vyawahare, PhD

Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office (HFTO) Postdoctoral Recognition Awards

- Recognize postdoctoral fellows from DOE national laboratories for outstanding achievements in the research, development, and demonstration of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies
- Align with HFTO's commitment to advance and strengthen the hydrogen and fuel cells workforce in the United States

HFTO Postdoctoral Recognition Awards



First Place Winner – For outstanding contributions to the research, development, and demonstration of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies

Audrey Taylor, National Renewable Energy Laboratory





Runners Up – For exceptional research innovation in hydrogen and fuel cell technologies

- Jason Lee, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
- Wipula Liyanage, Los Alamos National Laboratory

HFTO Award of Excellence

Inaugural "Colleagues' Pick" Award!

Congratulations to Dr. Sunita Satyapal

Recognizing Dr. Satyapal for her tireless dedication to hydrogen and fuel cell technologies



For more information:

Please check our website later this week for more information on the outstanding achievements and contributions of our awardees!

www.hydrogen.energy.gov/annual_review.html